THIRTY-SECOND ANNUAL CONVENTION of COOPERATIVE EDUCATIONAL SERVICE AGENCY NO. 9 STATE OF WISCONSIN CESA #9 OFFICE TOMAHAWK, WISCONSIN MONDAY, AUGUST 3, 2015 7:00 P.M.

MINUTES

Scott Everson, Chair of the Board of Control, called the Thirty-Second Annual Convention of Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 9 to order and led the delegates and guests in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chair Everson indicated that the CESA 9 Administrator, Karen Wendorf-Heldt, would serve as the secretary of the Convention and also serve as temporary chairperson. Dr. Heldt read the official Convention Notice to those present.

A roll call and certification of delegates was the next order of business. The roll call read as follows:

Antigo Arbor Vitae Woodruff Athens DC Everest Edgar Elcho Lac du Flambeau Lakeland Union HS Marathon Merrill Minocqua-Hazelhurst-Lake Tomahawk Mosinee North Lakeland Northland Pines Phelps Prentice Rhinelander Rib Lake Stratford Three Lakes Tomahawk	Andy Merry Brad Walbruck Kevin Zubke Helen Ackermann Bill Dittman Robert Jensen Brian Jackson Barry Seidel Gary Raether Jen Seliger Mary Whitman Cory Tomczyk Kris Kassien-Reed Phillip Epping Kathy Mesun Helen Palmquist Duane Frey Scott Everson Dan Thompson Tom Rulseh	Present Absent Absent Present (after roll call) Present
Three Lakes Tomahawk	Tom Rulseh Ken Dirks	Absent Present
Wausau	Theresa Miles	Present

Dr. Heldt introduced CESA 9 staff in attendance (Hilary Cordova, Dawn Nordine, Jenny Miner) and WASDA Executive Director Jon Bales.

The Lakeland Area delegates that were present met briefly to determine a voting delegate from the group. Brad Walbruck (AVW) served as the voting delegate.

Ken Dirks nominated Scott Everson to serve as the Convention Chairperson. Dan Thompson seconded the nomination. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Motion by Helen Palmquist, second by Helen Ackermann to adopt the Roberts Rules of Order for the Convention. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

The August 4, 2014 Annual Convention minutes were presented. A motion was made by Dan Thompson and seconded by Duane Frey to accept the minutes as presented. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

Election of Board of Control members was the next order of business. The election plan was reviewed and vacancies for the various class seats on the Board of Control were announced. Chairperson Everson stated that there were three seats available (one Small, one Large and one At-Large).

Those eligible for the Small seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Bill Dittman, Robert Jensen, Kathy Mesun. Remaining on the ballot: Kevin Zubke. Ken Dirks made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Kevin Zubke to represent the Small category. Motion was seconded by Kathy Mesun. All delegates present voted aye. Motion carried.

Those eligible for the Large seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Theresa Miles, Brad Walbruck. Remaining on the ballot: Andy Merry. Ken Dirks made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Andy Merry to represent the Small category. Motion was seconded by Helen Ackermann. All delegates present voted aye. Motion carried.

Those eligible for the At-Large seat were asked to indicate their desire to remain on the ballot or decline. Declining: Brad Walbruck, Bill Dittman, Robert Jensen, Theresa Miles, Gary Raether. Not in attendance: Cory Tomszyk (removed from ballot). Remaining on the ballot: Phillip Epping. Motion by Andy Merry to cast a unanimous ballot for Phillip Epping. Second by Dan Thompson. All present voted aye. Motion carried.

The 2015 - 2016 Board of Control members are:

Board Member	<u>District</u>	<u>Class</u>	Term Expires
Scott Everson	Rib Lake	Small	2016
Dan Thompson	Stratford	Medium	2016
Jen Seliger	Merrill	Large	2016
Tom Rulseh	Three Lakes	Medium	2016
Helen Ackermann	D.C. Everest	Large	2017
Ken Dirks	Tomahawk	Medium	2017
Helen Palmquist	Prentice	Small	2017
Duane Frey	Rhinelander	At-Large	2017
Phillip Epping	Northland Pines	At-Large	2018
Andy Merry	Antigo	Large	2018
Kevin Zubke	Athens	Small	2018

Agency Administrator Karen Wendorf-Heldt distributed copies of the 2014-15 Annual Report and highlighted feedback by customers (district staff), information on the agency's quest for continuous improvement, and stressed CESA 9's commitment to our customers. She also encouraged delegates to share the "good news" of how CESA 9 supports schools and districts with their communities and legislators so that the value CESA 9 is understood by policymakers.

Jon Bales, Wisconsin Association of School District Administrators (WASDA) Executive Director, presented information from the SAA Evidence-based Policy Agenda. Jon reviewed the purpose of the policy agenda, the process and partners involved, and the SAA recommendations. He

focused on the finance and stewardship section of the agenda as well as the importance of public education to our democratic society. Delegates were given the opportunity to ask questions. A copy of Jon's presentation was emailed to all delegates after the convention.

Convention Chair Everson stated that the CESA 9 Organizational Meeting would begin after the conclusion of the Annual Convention.

Motion by Ken Dirks, second by Theresa Miles to adjourn the Annual Convention. All aye. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned.